The Ostentatious Writings of a Megalomaniacal Eccentric

From Blogspot to WordPress

I have once again transferred to another blogging platform. I went from a self-hosted wordpress.org platform, to Google’s blogspot, and now to wordpress.com. Just so my readers know (the ones I haven’t lost from my excessive blog transformations), I will not be transferring again to any other platforms; I am here to stay.

So why the transfer from blogspot to wordpress?

Not that anything is wrong with blogspot ( in my opinion), but for some reason there is a stigma attached to using blogspot in the blogger world. I myself do not find anything particularly distasteful about blogspot. In fact, I find some features of blogspot to be more pleasing than wordpress. Particularly, the freedom of design.

Today as I searched through wordpress’s limited themes available for the free-hosted users, I almost vomited from the site of a few of them. No, seriously. I actually felt nauseous at the unbelievably ugly site of some of these themes.  Of course, I know the reason why wordpress chooses to make only the most hideous themes available. WordPress is trying to encourage folks to buy the custom CSS option or go with a self-hosted platform.

While this is a brilliant marketing tactic, I feel a bit of  spite towards them because of it. I was about to say, “fuck you, wordpress. I’m using blogspot” but, as you can see, I submitted. Why? Because unlike the stigma that is attached to blogspot in the blogosphere, wordpress on the other hand has a reputation of being a professional blogging platform. For the real bloggers.

And I am a professional, god damnit.

Whether this is ultimately true or not of wordpress, I am a professional blogger of awesome damnit; and I shall use the platform that will best convey this. And I feel my content will transcend the ugliness of whatever theme out of the 94 available I may be using at any given time anyway. Fortunately, wordpress occasionally comes out with new themes. So I have that to look forward to. I just hope they will show some mercy and provide some pretty ones.

At the moment I am using a theme called Regulus. It is one of the few not-so-bad ones I found. And this particular one allows me to customize the header, so that is a plus. However, I cannot change the colors of the layout (other than the pukish ones available). So as of now I am using the ‘plain white’ option, which makes it bearable.

Well, anyway. There it is. I’m a wordpress blogger now. I hope I will not come to regret this decision…

3 responses

  1. From my point of view the stigma is against wordpress, I normally don’t bother commenting on wordpress blogs because the process is too long. I wouldn’t touch wordpress with yours.

    Lobg live Blogspot!

    AV

    July 29, 2010 at 5:18 pm

  2. see, I didn’t even get a preview to correct lobg… I rest my case.

    AV

    July 29, 2010 at 5:19 pm

  3. I’m actually considering moving back to blogspot ;p I am way too indecisive…

    August 3, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

